APPG AgDev Banner Final Design page 001On Thursday 2nd July the APPG was formally reconstituted for the new Parliament.

Jeremy Lefroy MP (Conservative) was elected as Chair, Lord Cameron of Dillington (Crossbench) was re-elected as Co-Chair, and Lord Boateng of Akyem and Wembley (Labour) was relected as Secretary.

Joining the executive, Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour), Mark Durkan MP (SDLP), Pauline Latham OBE MP (Conservaitve), Lord Chidgey (Liberal Democrat) and the Countess of Mar (Crossbench) were duly elected as Vice-Chairs.

Following the election, Officers discussed the APPG's priorities and strategy for the year ahead. It was agreed that the APPG will focus on the following broad areas:

  • Access to and sources of finance for smallholder farmers and on- and off-farm agribusiness development;
  • Infrastructure facilitating smallholder participation in markets;
  • The impact of climate change on food security and smallholder agriculture and support for smallholders to adapt and build resilience;
  • The implementation of proposed Sustainable Development Goal 2 and the role of different actors and partnerships in its delivery;
  • Nutritious food systems.